How to Clear a USB Drive

Quick answer

  1. Download and install MultiDrive
  2. Plug in your USB drive
  3. Open MultiDrive and click Erase
  4. Select the USB and go to Options
  5. Enable Format drive after erasing... and click Apply
  6. Click Erase and wait for Success in Stats

Need to wipe a USB drive for free, securely clearing it from all the information or viruses? To permanently delete data from USB, follow this easy 6-step guide.

6 steps to clear a USB drive

  1. Download and install the free wiping software – MultiDrive.
  2. Plug in your USB drive into any USB port on your computer.
  3. Run MultiDrive and go to Erase on the left.
  4. Select the USB drive you want to clear and click the Options button.
Erasing a USB drive start
  1. Enable the Format drive after erasing with file system option, select either NTFS or exFAT, and click the Apply button.
Enabling the option to format drive after erasing
  1. Click the Erase button and wait until the ‘Success’ result appears in the Stats panel, signifying that the wiping process has completed successfully.
Erasing a USB drive success

MultiDrive can format the USB after wiping (NTFS or exFAT) from Erase Options.

For File Explorer, FAT32, and command-prompt steps, see how to format a USB drive.

Erasing a USB drive FAQ

It is better to completely erase your USB drive, when you:

  • Want to securely delete all sensitive files from it
  • Suspect that it may contain viruses or malware
  • Prepare the drive for resale
  • Switch to a more modern file system (e.g. change from FAT32 to exFAT or NTFS)

Putting all files and folders to the Recycle bin or performing a quick format of your USB flash drive won’t delete all your data permanently.

The best way to wipe your USB flash drive is to use free wiping software, like MultiDrive. It securely and irreversibly deletes all data from your USB drive:

  1. Download and install MultiDrive.
  2. Click Erase > Select your flash drive > Click the Erase button.

Yes, you can safely reuse your flash drive after wiping it clean with MultiDrive and quick-formatting it in Windows and other operating systems.

Flash memory has a limited number of write cycles. However, it's not likely that wiping a USB drive a few times will cause any noticeable damage or significantly reduce its lifespan.

It's better to know for sure that your sensitive data is gone for good, even if it does a little bit of damage to the drive.

Think of your USB drive as a library.

Deleting a file is like removing a card from the catalog. The book (your data) is still on the shelf, and another person can still find it. The space is simply marked as available for a new book.

Formatting is like emptying the entire library and replacing the card catalog system. But it's tricky:

  • Quick format just removes the catalog, making the books invisible but still physically present until new books are added.
  • Full format goes a step further by checking the shelves for damage and sometimes writing zeros over the existing books, making them much harder to find.

Secure erasing is like shredding every single page of every book in the library. This process overwrites the entire drive with random data or some binary value making the original information practically impossible to recover.

Author

Sergiy Pasyuta, Atola Technology Team

Sergiy Pasyuta

Technical Writer at Atola Technology

Tech writer and educational content creator. Sergiy has over 3 years of experience working with drives and file systems. He loves to dig deep into complex issues and explain them in plain language.